Keto Diet – End of Week 2

What a rocky road for me.  Not just with the diet but emotional too.  I ended up getting the dreaded keto “flu” and haven’t had much energy at all, along with daily headaches.  I haven’t had it the whole time but this week for sure.

I’ve talked with a friend who has been on the keto diet for over a year and she has given me tips on how to fix my fatigue.  First step is to drink more water.  I am not a big water drinker.  I like it cold only and I’m a sipper so my ice melts quickly.  Once it’s warm and in a glass with an open top and has sat there awhile, I won’t drink it.  Stuff in the air settles and that grosses me out.  I don’t like the plastic cups with reusable straws because I don’t feel they get clean enough. So to help me with water intake I ordered a custom tumbler from my good friend Whitney with Whitney’s Custom Creations.  Now my water can stay cold for a long time and I don’t have to worry about dust settling in my water.

32117013_10104061630402518_5309989237662154752_n

Second step is to up my sodium intake with pink himalayan salt.  She told me about a neat trick she does, where she carries a small vial of the salt around with her and periodically eats a small pinch of salt to give her system a boost.  She also does it when she gets muscle cramps.  Doing both of these should help me get past the “flu.”

On top of that my depression has been bad.  Dark thoughts and all.  Charles knew something was wrong… I knew something was wrong.  The supplements I was taking, I had to stop due to the carb count in it.  The second supplement I started taking wasn’t doing anything.  I had a doctor appointment on Monday and asked for a new anti-depressant with anxiety help.  She prescribed me Lexapro and within 30-40 minutes of taking the first one, I was so giddy and happy and for the first time in a year, I felt like I was myself again.  It was amazing… so amazing that I had my grandma’s doctor prescribe it to her too.  She has had a really hard time since grandpa passed away.

It feels so good to have my hamster back on its wheel running at full steam ahead.  I am full of ideas to add to my business DOORDECORbySieara and I’m soon going to start using Keto//OS to help me with my hunger hurdle and once I get my energy back, I’m going to start exercising at home.

I’m excited.  During my darkest moment last weekend, I thought “What is there to live for?  I don’t have Audrey and once again having a hard time getting pregnant… what do I have to look forward to?”  That thought hurt my soul to think and why I went back to anti-depressants.  With everything I’m thinking of and all that I’m about to do, it gives me something to look forward to again.  I am inspired and so looking forward to continuing this diet and seeing where it leads.

Back to the diet… We steared away from the cookbooks this week.  We has salmon from Costco, salads, burgers with a lettuce bun, a huge breakfast dinner (eggs, bacon, and sausage), and Chipolte bowls.  All really yummy… tonight we had ribs with no sauce, broccoli, and ranch.  The ribs were perfect.  Charles did an amazing job as always.

31961194_10104061652957318_3579869826924937216_n

I am having a hard time figuring out snacks.. a girl can only eat so many turkey sticks.  So if any of you have any suggestions that doesn’t include avocados, please leave it in the comments!  I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Total Weight Loss:

Sieara – 7.4 lbs

Charles – Still not sure – at least 4 lbs

Leave a comment