The Start of Our New Adventure

So I am originally from Kansas, but at a young age we moved to Texas for my fathers work and so I grew up here.  To all those who know me, know that I have always wanted to go back to Kansas.  After, I got married 6 years ago, every year I begged my husband to move to Kansas so we could be next to my family.  Every year I was told no and so my dream stayed a dream and we stayed here in Texas.

Well around this last Thanksgiving, I finally started to see my dream come to light when we started to talk about moving up and I can’t tell you how excited my mother and I were about this.  So we did our best to convince him how beneficial it would be and it wasn’t until we received news that his sister and her family were moving away, that he finally gave the ok to move!

I can’t express my excitement.  We started looking at places, trying to decide if we wanted to rent or buy when we go up… we had until June of this year to decide, so we were coming up with pros and cons and looking at what we wanted in a house.

We finally decided to rent and save up money, as well as, pay off debt and then we will buy.  Now the question is what can we rent in our price range?  I’d rather be pocket rich and house poor than house rich and pocket poor.  So I want to make sure we find something in our desired area but cheap.  Not squanders cheap but I’m not going to overpay because there is a tennis court either.

After months of looking online at 1000’s of houses and town homes, we finally narrowed it down to 3 different properties.  We figured quickly that we wouldn’t be able rent a house, so town home it is, which I am kinda excited about.  We have lived in apartments and in a house but never a town home.

The first property was pretty perfect. It was huge and had a basement and 2 car garage, but the stairway was very narrow and it would be a pain to get furniture upstairs, plus the pet deposit and pet rent was ridiculous.  It would have cost more than the regular rent.

The second property  was nice.  It had a basement as well, but no garage.  We were going to choose it, but when I called to confirm pricing a week after my mother went to see it, the price had jumped pretty high.  Cross that one off the list.

The third and final property was a good size, but we hadn’t seen any pictures online and it was a one bedroom (we were wanting a 2-3 bedroom), so we weren’t too sure.  Mom said it was cute and so I had her send pictures and OMG!!!!! It is adorable and I am so stinking excited to move now (more than before)!

So we sent in an application and were approved and now it is official, we are moving the weekend of May 16th!!!!!!

Let the packing begin!  This place is so cute that it keeps me from wanting to clutter it up with a bunch of crap.  Do you know what that means?  GARAGE SALE!!!!!! (I’m not normal.  I LOVE garage sales, especially when doing them with my mom)

So my plan for this month (March) is to pack what we are taking and then price and pack our garage sale stuff, to get it out of the way.

Then in April I will go up to Kansas and focus on the business my mother and I are starting.  It’s going to be decorative pillows and probably a bunch of other stuff.

Finally, we will come back in May for a going away party, the garage sale, and then packing up and doing the final move!

I can’t believe its finally happening…. I am just counting down the days until we get out of here!

Leave a Reply

